Thankful…..

Image

Thank you all for the beautiful support of my first post on “LoveBomb”

Its been a great week to receive such love-filled comments and emails. Don’t forget to ‘follow’ my page so you will receive updates straight to your inbox each week.

This week I am going to share a few recipes with you that I made across the last week. Its been a busy and hot week in Sydney…lots of swimming, walking, yoga, Bondi juices with my niece, catching some well needed vitamin D, and lots of cooking and researching.

This week I had some amazing Kinesiology with Kimberley Pipe https://www.facebook.com/k.p.kinesiology I don’t entirely understand the process but I understand what I went in with and how amazing I felt when I came out. Jump on her FB page and go have a session with her. You wont regret it, she is awesome!

This week my partner & I also started the “Happier at Home-21 Day Relationship Challenge” cover-hah_180x180

It’s all about taking simple and small steps to better your relationship and make it more loving, we have so enjoyed it and it definitely works! You can still sign up online http://www.happiness-project.com/21-day-relationship-challenge/

For example today’s truth is about changing yourself… “My Sixth Splendid Truth holds: The only person I can change is myself. It’s so tempting to focus on the changes that other people should make—but we don’t get to hand out assignments. So generally, I make resolutions only for myself”

I love it, and one I will definitely be taking on board.

Quinoa Spring Sushi & Quick Pickled Ginger

I’ve made this a few times now…I always make loads in the hope of having some for lunch the next day. Sadly it never makes it to tomorrow as it is just too delicious!  I’ve used the recipe from one of my favorite blogs My New Roots. Find it at http://mynewroots.org/site/2012/03/quinoa-spring-sushi-diy-quick-pickled-ginger-2/ with my alterations and suggestions below. Enjoy. These are so summery and light, as well as being super healthy too!

sushi2

  • DEF make the pickled ginger, it is just divine and you will never want that sickly pink ginger  in a packet again. To save time I make this in the morning and refrigerate. It also enhances  the flavor to sit longer. You can also make the quinoa ahead of time as well.
  • I use Tamari instead of Soy sauce to make it gluten-free
  • I added sliced avocado, spring onions, sweet and sour braised cabbage (recipe below) cucumber, carrots and a little tartare sauce (I didn’t have any mayo and it was a great  substitute. Masterfoods brand is surprisingly vegan)
  • DEF add the roasted sesame seeds…such a great additional flavor as well as being packed   with essential minerals such as calcium and zinc
  • I grate my carrot, much easier than spending hours trying to julienne even carrots!
  • Use a bamboo sushi mat if you can. I got one from the supermarket for $1.30.
  • Add some protein too, marinated tofu, mushies whatever you have on hand
  • Great for the kids lunchbox (minus the avo as it goes brown and is super unappealing)
Braised sweet and sour Cabbage

This recipe doesn’t sound good, braised reminds me of my childhood and foul discolored meat, and sweet and sour sauce came from a can. This is the opposite of that and is fantastic. Technically not fermented it is however high in antioxidants, a great source of fibre, vitamin C and with the apple cider vinegar its great for your digestion.

We’ve been eating this with most meals across the last week. I based my recipe on the Conscious Kitchen blog http://theconsciouskitchen.typepad.com/blog/ with a few changes- like dramatically reducing the sugar!

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil6a0134890408d5970c017ee400ce9e970d-800wi
  • 1 medium sweet or red onion, thinly sliced (I didn’t use this as I find onion can upset my tummy sometimes)
  • 1 head red cabbage
  • 1 apple, peeled and grated
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • maple syrup to taste (the recipe said 1/3 cup but that horrified me, I think I prob used a few teaspoons)
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground cumin
  • 1 bay leaf ( I didn’t use this as I didn’t have any left)
  • sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  1. Cut the cabbage in half lengthwise and cut out the core. Cut each half in half again lengthwise, then slice into 1/2 inch pieces.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add the onions to the pan and sprinkle with a bit of sea salt.
  3. Cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally until the onions begin to soften and start to caramelize.
  4. Add the cabbage and cook for about 15 minutes until it starts to become tender. Add the apple, vinegar, water, sugar or syrup, cumin, and bay leaf. Mix well and lower the heat to a medium-low temperature. Simmer for 20-30 minutes until the juices are syrupy and the cabbage is shiny and tender, but not overcooked.
  5. Remove from the heat and season with sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste. Serve immediately or refrigerate in a sealed container for up to a week.
Roasted Pumpkin & Sunflower seeds

When I was having my Kinesiology session it came up that I was low in B3, Kimberley suggested munching on Sunflower seeds and this simple recipe

  • Mix a cup of each sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds with coconut oil to coat
  • Sprinkle on some sea salt  (you could flavor these with whatever spices you have but we had them as is)
  • Roast in the oven, I put it in at 150°C for about 20 minutes.
  • Cool if you can wait, and eat. Holy moly they were great!

Next week: I’ll be putting together some more delish smoothies, great weaning tips and some great ideas for getting some vegies into the kiddies mealtimes without any drama-rama.

See you next week LoveBombers! Until then have an awesome week.

Pete x

good-life-quotes

4 thoughts on “Thankful…..

  1. Pete, This is awesome!!!!!! Well done chica, I’m so proud of you …. you are Peta The Warrior Princess!! :-) Can’t wait to try the recipes. Have a wonderful day and keep it going!! xxx

Leave a Reply

