Small things….

tumblr_me2bu2vyXD1rixu0po1_500Happy March!

Where has this year gone already…I don’t know about you all but I’m having such an awesome year. Lots of fun (I had my birthday a few weeks back) and to keep some balance there were some challenging times to navigate my way through too.

What I have learned in the last few weeks is the wisdom of helping others, a small thing to you can be a big thing to someone else. I always believe that helping someone out, in turn comes back to you ten fold. Never doubt the power of the comfort that your help, love and support for your friends, family and partner provides.

Vow to speak gently and do more things with love.

My sister-in-law is heavily pregnant and excitingly due any day, so I’ve been helping her out by spending time with my gorgeous niece so she can do some yoga and meditate, as well as making lots of healthy food for us as a family to eat. We head back to Los Angeles soon so I will miss all these lovely family dinners we have been having. Most meals I cook I make extra and then I freeze extra meals in a take away size containers (if there is any left) for her and her partner for when the baby comes. Let me tell you this is one of the best gifts you can give when friends have just had a new baby, a healthy pre-made pack of meals. I usually do vege lasagna (packed with lots of veges), dahl, vege soups etc. Loads of great protein packed foods easily defrosted for that crazy first month of new babyland.

Tonight I made a beautiful and super healthy Kelp Noodle Salad with Tahini sauce and some mock “Tuna” Salad which I will post below. My mother in law pre everyone becoming vegan used to make a tuna dip for most celebrations. This is something similar, without the nasty chemicals that are being found in tuna of late, no cholesterol and much healthier! I also made a really beautiful Vege Lasagne two nights running, now that was AMAZEBALLS. I surprised myself at how great it was. I looked at a few recipes and then made up my own. I will do my best to translate it from my brain! Trust me when I say make a big one. Its divine!

20120513-204356Also I want to share with you a beautiful blog from a gorgeous friend of mine, Brett called “The Pear and the Purple Peach”

I will include his recipe for a Rich Chocolate Mousse that is to DIE for! You seriously cannot believe how good it tastes and the main ingredient is avocado. What the?! I adore avo and am chuffed that its is now being used in dessert. Check out Bretts’ blog and follow him, he shares some great recipes that are super easy to follow http://thepearandthepurplepeach.com/2013/02/18/dark-chocolate-mousse/

 

“Tuna” Salad

Ingredients:chickpeas

  •  1 can chick-peas, drained
  •  1/4 cup vegan mayonnaise (change the quantity here to taste. I used tartare sauce as we didn’t have mayo. Masterfoods brand is surprisingly vegan)
  •  1/3 cup minced celery (I used the food processor for this)
  •  2.5 T. minced dill pickle (about 1 pickle-slice, give or take)
  •  1/2 T. nutritional yeast
  •  1 green onion, chopped
  •  1 t. soy sauce (I used Tamari to keep it gluten-free)
  •  1/2 t. kelp powder (I didn’t use this but apparently it adds more of a fishy flavor)
  •  lemon juice, to taste
  •  pepper, to taste

Directions:

In a medium bowl, mash the chick-peas coarsely with a fork. Mix in the remaining ingredients. This is great on some crusty bread. Chickpeas are an excellent source of fibre and protein. I was never a tuna fan and yet I love this. Timesaver: Can be made the day before
(Original recipe from Compassionate Action for Animals)

My ridiculously amazing Vege Lasagna
  • Firstly I cut up some eggplant thinly, throw on good glug of olive oil, sea salt and pepper to coat lightly and put in the oven on a low temp. I seriously dislike heavy and hard chunks of eggplant and love it a little mushy and salty.
  • Then I made a tomato sauce. I threw into the processor tinned toms, tom paste, fresh toms, fresh basil, chop and then put it on the stove to simmer and thicken. I then lightly fried some mushrooms in coconut oil and then threw them in to the tomato mix. Season with salt and pepper. Maybe some chili to warm it up and some herbs. Pretty much how you would make your usual tomato pasta sauce.
  • I made pesto. Simple. Throw fresh basil, pistachios, loads of garlic & olive oil in the blender, blend to taste.
  • I made the cashew cheese below (Try not to eat that as you go, save it for the lasagna)
Cashew Cheese
  • 1 1/4 cups raw cashews (soak for about 3-4 hours)
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast (available from a health food store-excellent B12)
  • 2 teaspoons onion powder
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder (I use fresh garlic cloves)
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground white pepper (I used black pepper)
  • 3 1/2 cups plain unsweetened soy milk (I always use almond milk)
  • fresh basil to taste
  • 1/2 cup canola oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1/4 cup yellow or white miso (I didn’t have miso but usually use it- really is great and gives more depth to the cheese)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (I always use more lemon juice as I LOVE it so much)
733919_10151264889521682_317276263_nUsing the pulse button, finely grind the cashews in a food processor (do not allow the cashews to turn into a paste). Add the nutritional yeast, onion powder, salt, garlic powder, and pepper. Pulse 3 more times to blend in the spices. With the processor running add the milk and oil, blend til smooth and creamy.

Assembly:

Layer the tomato mix, the pesto, the cheese, fresh spinach and the eggplant any which way you like. In between the layers instead of pasta I use rice paper rolls. Follow the packet instructions just as you would to make rice paper rolls. I.e grab a dinner plate, put some hot water on it and soak the paper. I would do this as you are layering and assembling the lasagna. You don’t want the rice paper too wet or too sticky. A little bit firm is totally ok. End with the cheese layer and sprinkle some nutritional yeast on the top. Put in the oven for about 30 minutes at 180°. Easy peasy.

Timesaver: Make the pesto and cashew cheese ahead of time. I also made the tomato mixture the day before too.

 

Kelp Noodles With Tahini Sauce

Kelp noodles are a revelation – they look like noodles and taste like noodles but are made from seaweed. Bonus, they are practically calorie and carb free as well as being high in iodine (great for thyroid health) and gluten-free. The noodles absorb any sauce, can be eaten hot or cold and are a great alternative for pasta.

Ingredients
3/4 cup raw sesame tahini553243_10151264742491682_1913644789_n
1/4 cup nama shoyu (I used Tamari)
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon raw apple cider vinegar
1 garlic clove (double this if you love garlic like I do!)
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 tablespoon non-GMO soy lecithin (optional) (I didn’t bother with this)
4 to 5 scallions, white and green parts, finely chopped (I used a red onion)
1 pound kelp noodles (I got these from my local health food store)
1 zucchini, julienned or spiral cut (I recently bought a spirooli type thing-amazing. Def buy one. No more grating!)
1 bunch kale, stemmed and finely chopped (I couldn’t get any kale so used spinach)
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
Large handful of cilantro leaves, cut into chiffonade
Large handful of mint leaves, cut into chiffonade

Instructions
To make the sauce, combine the tahini, tamari, lemon juice, vinegar, 1/2 cup water, garlic, salt, nutritional yeast, turmeric,  and 1/2 red onion in a blender and blend until it has a smooth and a thick but pourable consistency, adding more water if necessary to thin it out.

Place the kelp noodles in a strainer, rinse and drain them thoroughly, separating the noodles to untangle them. Add the sauce and toss well to coat. Add the zucchini, kale/spinach, cherry tomatoes, and remaining onion and toss well. Garnish with the cilantro and mint.

Timesaver: Make the sauce a day ahead.
Extras: I added tofu cooked in tamari, carrot, some fresh lime juice & zest, red cabbage, and chilli sauce for a little kick. Kids love kelp noodles so don’t be scared to make them for the whole family.
Original recipe from A Taste of Light.

Rich Choolate Mousse 20130218-213103

Ingredients:

2 Large Avocados (stoned and skin removed)
1/2 Cup Maple Syrup (I cut this down and used half the amount)
1 Tbs Coconut oil
¼ Cup Dairy free milk (I used Almond Milk)
1-2 Tablespoons Vanilla Extract
1 Tsp Balsamic Vinegar
1/2 Tsp Low-Salt Soy Sauce (I used Tamari)
4 Tbs Cacao

Directions:
Place all ingredients except cacao and milk into a food processor or blender, blend until smooth. (I used a barmix)
Add cacao and blend until smooth. Add milk to thin a bit and blend until thick. Adjust taste with a tad more
sweetness and balsamic if you can still taste the avocado.
Recipe courtesy of The Pear and the Purple Peach.

Hope you enjoy this posts recipes. Would love to hear your feedback!

Have an awesome week my LoveBomb friends!

Pete xx

531725_504896469562974_898674803_n

6 thoughts on “Small things….

  1. thanks Peta for the lovely and very heathly recipes, also for the positive thoughts. I too believe if we do good things we feel so much better. I love your positive blog.

Leave a Reply

